Former Australia cricketer and SRH coach Tom Moody did not blame the on-field umpire for the controversial short-run decision in Kings XI Punjab's inning on Sunday. Moody wondered why technology didn't intervene, saying the third umpire should have made a ruling in the short-run decision.
Notably, on-field umpire Nitin Menon's decision to call a run short when Chris Jordan took a couple of runs off Rabada in the 19th over while playing towards long-on area has stirred controversy. Chris Jordan's run was adjudged not complete by the on-field umpire despite replays showing the bat had crossed the line.
"Unfortunately, things like that aren't thought through until incidents like that happen," Moody told ESPN.
"Without a doubt, the third umpire should have made a ruling but they need to declare that that is part of the rules prior to the start of the tournament. It clearly isn't part of the rules.
"This shouldn't happen with the technology available. This was a line call like a no-ball, run out or stumping we can't afford to have these errors influencing the outcome of matches in such a competitive tournament," Tom Moody tweeted.
This shouldn't happen with the technology available. This was a line call like a no ball, run out or stumping we can't afford to have these errors influencing the outcome of matches in such a competitive tournament. #DCvKXIP https://t.co/lZIpkO73ji— Tom Moody (@TomMoodyCricket) September 21, 2020